The External Evaluation of the Department of Economics was undertaken by ADIP (the HELLENIC QUALITY ASSURANCE AND ACCREDITATION AGENCY) on the 1st and 2nd of July 2019. The evaluation was conducted by Chari Jannis Angelis (KTH Royal Institute of Technology), Professor Nikolaos Georgantzis (Burgundy School of Business), Associate Professor Vasileios Zervos (ISU and University of Strasbourg), Professor Ioannis Violaris (City Unity College Nicosia, Cyprus), and Mr Vasileios Samoutis (Economic Chamber of Greece). The Panel confirmed the very high standing of the Undergraduate Study Programme, where the Department attained "full compliance" in 10 out of 10 key Principles.
Events and Conference Highlights
Editor: Helen Louri-Dendrinou
Associate Editor: Spyros Pagratis
Prepared by: Alexandros Kostopoulos

Research highlights
Exact and approximate bounds for portfolio analysis, by Stelios Arvanitis (with Sofia Anyfantaki, Thierry Post, and Nikolas Topaloglou)

Dealing with endogeneity in threshold models using copulas, by Elias Tzavalis (with Dimitris Christopoulos and Peter McAdam)
AUEB's Department of Economics invites its graduates to join the new platform
Jean Monnet Seminar Series:
Jean Monnet Seminar Series: Professor Demopoulos is directing for 21 consecutive years the Jean ̀onnet Seminar Series (weekly, during the spring semester). It has been established as an Institutional platform for a productive dialogue between leading academics, experts from the banking and public sectors and students. 

AUEB's Department of Economics supportes the organization of the 18th Conference on Research on Economic Theory and Econometrics (CRETE) at Tinos, Greece, July 12-16, 2019. The program includes talks by Costis Daskalakis (MIT), John Geanakoplos (Yale), Hugo Hopenhayn (UCLA), Eugenio Miravete (Univ. of Texas at Austin), Torsten Persson (Stockholm Univ.), Peter C.B. Phillips (Yale) and Patrick Rey (Toulouse School of Economics), among many other distinguished presenters.

AUEB's Department of Economics hosts the Econometrics Workshop with distinguished speaker Professor Peter C. B. Phillips (Yale University) on July 3.
Professor Lars Peter Hansen (University of Chicago and 2013 Nobel Prize in Economic Science) was awarded an Honorary Doctorate by the Department of Economics on May 28.
Selected News and Announcements

External Evaluation of the Department of Economics