Springer Nature Science & Technology Symposium 2022 | Seminar on SDGs

The first Springer Nature Science & Technology Symposium 2022 was held on Tuesday, June 21st.

The symposium was a global virtual forum with seven intriguing panel discussions covering diverse topics from the importance of research in global technology firms, to Gold OA, Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and championing diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) in the research ecosystems.

Prof. Phoebe Koundouri participated in a panel discussion on “Connecting the disconnected – Sustainable Development Goals” and she highlighted the importance of interdisciplinary collaboration for sustainable development.

The event was a grand success as:

In total 40+ Speakers who joined from 17 countries, which includes Nobel Peace Prize Winner, Global Academic leaders, Researchers,  Policy Makers, SDG/DEI experts, CXO from Global Tech Majors (Microsoft, Google, HP, Tech Mahindra), Startup Founders etc.

Close to 10,000 registrations from more than 30+ countries which Included Researchers, Faculty/Students at various Universities, Corporate leaders, Academic leaders, Policy Makers, Government Officials, Technology & Startup communities.

This panel brought together researchers from across the globe working towards meeting Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) and they explored the efforts, opportunities, and challenges towards achieving the global goals. Research communities, practitioners in policy and business are tackling the world’s toughest challenges and they need scientific and technological insights in order to offer solutions. The discussion was a deep dive into the SDG research landscape.


  • Nicola Jones, Head of Publishing, Springer Nature SDG Programme


  • Prof. Maharaja K Pandit, University of Delhi
  • Anindya Chatterjee,  International Development Research Centre (IDRC)
  • Rajeev Varshney, Director, Centre for Crop & Food Innovation, Murdoch University
  • Prof. Phoebe Koundouri, President European Association Environmental and Resource Economists, Co-Chair UN SDSN Europe